Dachshund Rescue of North America
Applicant sign in
Stewie #12719
Dog Information
Color: Black & Tan Coat: Smooth Special needs dog? No
Pattern: None Gender: Male Sanctuary dog? Yes
Size: Tweenie Weight: 14 lbs Spayed/Neutered? Yes
Age: 1 Year Category: Adult
State: MD - View more in MD
Added: 2019-10-16
Adopted 2019-11-02



Biography
My name is Stewie. I am 14lbs. of fun and am very loveable. I'm about 1-2 years old and I am a very handsome black and tan smooth coat dachshund. I hail from Texas and have been in MD for one week, I'm still getting acclimated to the weather here.
I am looking for a forever home where I can be with my people most of day. I love sitting with my people, it is my number one favorite thing to do. My number two favorite things to do are play with toys and dig the squeakers out. I don't mean any harm I just have to know what the little plastic thing is inside of my toys.
I love people very much and get along with and will give kisses to all of them I meet. Sometimes I am a little shy when I first meet people but it usually doesn't take me long to warm up. I like most dogs also. When I meet them outside sometimes I bark because I'm nervous but if I'm reassured that all is okay I will soon become friends with the dogs I meet.
I am partially house broken but still need to be monitored constantly to make sure that I don't have any mistakes. As long as I am monitored and taken outside every couple hours, I do very well. I am a very smart boy and will be easy to finish training. It will take consistency as well as praise but I can do it! Mom also says that my neuter this week should also help, whatever that means.
I enjoy long walks and I am pretty good at walking on a leash. Sometimes, however, if I see something that moves fast and is furry I will start pulling very hard. With a little more leash training though, I will be a perfect gentleman on my leash.
I also love to chill on the couch next to my people and watch TV. Still, I have a lot of energy, as I am a young dog, and I do need to be exercised daily with playtime, walks, or both.
At bedtime I need to be in the big bed with my family. That is what I enjoy and I may protest if I cannot sleep in the bed. I am a very good boy when it's time to go to sleep. I will not take much covers and I sleep quietly through the night.
I am a very sweet and loving boy. I do not bother anything in the house that I am not supposed to. I just know that given the chance and some additional training I will make an amazing addition to a wonderful and loving home.

Stewie's adoption fee is $275.
Must be willing to travel to Pasadena, Md to meet/adopt Stewie.

Vetting Information
• Heartworm Tested 2019-07-28
• Rabies 2019-07-28
• Distemper Combo - NO Lepto 2019-07-28
• Fecal Tested 2019-10-17
• Exam 2019-10-17
• Fecal 2019-10-30
Other Things To Know About This Dog
• Must have fenced yard
• No children

Want to know more about Stewie? Email foster family at klpndml@comcast.net