Dachshund Rescue of North America
Applicant sign in
Leonardo #11864
Dog Information
Color: Black & Tan Coat: Long-Hair Special needs dog? No
Pattern: None Gender: Male Sanctuary dog? No
Size: Miniature Weight: 9 lbs Spayed/Neutered? Yes
Age: 10 Years Category: Senior
State: NY - View more in NY
Added: 2017-05-07
Adopted 2017-06-10



Biography
Hello Everyone! My name is Leonardo (Leo for short). I was dropped off at a shelter with my brother Michaelangelo so my foster mom doesn’t know much about my background. When I arrived at my foster home I was thin and my breath smelled really bad. My foster mom took me to the vet and they cleaned my teeth up and had to have a few of them pulled. I have been with my foster mom since August, 2016 with my brother and we are finally ready for our forever home. I am still a thin pup, around 8 ½ pounds, but love to run around and play. The vet guesses my age between 9 & 10 but I still have a lot of energy. My favorite part of the day is snuggling on the recliner with my foster mom. My brother and I love to be on her lap and my brother makes a great pillow for me (I love to lay on top of him… hahaha, he keeps me warm).
We get along with other dogs, cats and kids!! I don’t really like other dogs near my food (except my brother, of course) so mom feeds me in a separate place from everyone else. We aren’t a fan of the crate. We sleep in our dog bed together at night in our mom’s home office but would love to sleep in the big bed if you let us!! We are very content as long as we are together. I will let you know when we need to go out for potty in the morning, as I will bark until you get up and let us out!!! I keep track of when it is time for my mom and dad to feed us. I will jump on their leg until they get up and get our food for us. My foster brother and sisters love that I keep mom on schedule!!!
My mom tells me all the time how cute I am. I am curious and very alert. I have to check out every noise in our house to make sure everyone stays safe. I bark when cars come in the driveway or my foster brother barks but other than that, I am content to be wherever my people are.
I am mostly potty trained but need to be let out on a schedule. Like I said, I let mom know when it is time to eat and I LOVE TO EAT. I jump around in circles when mom is getting our food ready. I need to go right out after I eat… or I might have an accident in the house. I don’t need any special care just a lap to snuggle on. I love to bury my head in my mom’s arm at night when we are watching TV. I really hope my brother and I can find a forever home soon.
The boys are located near Buffalo NY.
Please fill out an application at www.drna.org

Vetting Information
• Heartworm Tested 2016-07-15
• Distemper Combo - NO Lepto 2016-07-15
• Bordetella 2016-07-15
• Ivermectin 2016-07-15
• Strongid 2016-07-15
• Rabies 2016-07-19
• Heartworm Test 2017-01-12
• Bio waste Disposal 2017-01-12
Other Things To Know About This Dog
• Bonded Pair - Must be adopted with: Michaelangelo #11863

Want to know more about Leonardo? Email foster family at fortdox@gmail.com