Dachshund Rescue of North America
Applicant sign in
Michaelangelo #11863
Dog Information
Color: Black & Tan Coat: Long-Hair Special needs dog? Yes
Pattern: None Gender: Male Sanctuary dog? No
Size: Tweenie Weight: 14 lbs Spayed/Neutered? Yes
Age: 10 Years Category: Senior
State: NY - View more in NY
Added: 2017-05-07




Biography
UPDATED: I'M heartworm negative!!! HI everyone! I am Michaelangelo (Mikey for short). My brother Leo and I were dropped off at a shelter so my foster mom doesn’t know much about my background. When I arrived at my foster home I was thin and was heartworm positive. I have been treated for heartworm over the past several months. I will see the vet soon to have another test and we are hoping it will be negative so my brother and I can finally find a forever home. We have been with our foster family since August, 2016 because of my treatment. I am not a sick and thin pup anymore!!! I weight about 12 ½ pounds. I am pretty laid back. I like to be on my foster mom’s lap or near her feet on my dog bed. I rarely bark… I let my brother sound the alarm when people are coming or it is time to eat. The vet guesses that I am somewhere between 9 & 10 years old. Unlike my brother, I love to play. I will play fetch with you (you may need to encourage me to bring the ball back… ) and love to go for short walks. My favorite place though is still a lap on a lap or my dog bed.
We both get along with other dogs, cats and kids!! Like my brother, I really don’t like anyone near my food and I am fed separately from everyone else. We don’t really like to be in a crate but we sleep together at night in a dog bed. We would love to sleep in the big bed if you let us!!
Unlike my brother, I do have some special needs. Due to my heartworm, I have some heart issues. I have seen a cardiologist and have a value issue. The good news is that with medication, I am feeling so much better, have so much more energy, and can live a happy life. My medication isn’t expensive but I will need to take it for the rest of my life. My foster mom just puts in right in with my food and I gobble it up. I still love to play and go for walks but need to take a break sooner than other dogs. My foster mom says my heart problem doesn’t prevent me from being a normal dog, playing and cuddling with my family.
I am potty trained as long as I am on a consistent schedule. I LOVE TO EAT also… I have the most energy in the morning when mom is getting our food ready. My brother and I are cuddlebugs. We can both be silly at time and sometime our foster family laughs at our doxie antics!!! I really hope my brother and I can find a forever home!!
Please fill our an application at www. Drna.org
The boys are located near Buffalo, NY

Vetting Information
• Heartworm Tested 2016-07-15
• Distemper Combo - NO Lepto 2016-07-15
• Bordetella 2016-07-15
• Ivermectin 2016-07-15
• Strongid 2016-07-15
• Rabies 1 yr 2016-07-19
• Fecal Tested 2016-08-01
• Drontal 2016-12-02
Other Things To Know About This Dog
• Bonded Pair - Must be adopted with: Leonardo #11864

Want to know more about Michaelangelo? Email foster family at fortdox@gmail.com