Dachshund Rescue of North America
Applicant sign in
Paisley #10494
Dog Information
Color: Black & Tan Coat: Long-Hair Special needs dog? Yes
Pattern: Piebald Gender: Female Sanctuary dog? No
Size: Tweenie Weight: 13 lbs Spayed/Neutered? Yes
Age: 8 Years Category: Adult
State: NC - View more in NC
Added: 2016-09-12




Biography
Paisley is a dear, sweet piebald dachshund, who entered rescue w/ extreme anxiety, not housetrained, skin issues (& loss of hair in patches), thyroid condition, fearful---Born blind. Her owner had died & family member took Paisley to vet for euthanasia, citing that she had heart issues. Vet examined Paisley & stated nothing wrong w/ Paisley's heart! However, family did not want her, thus signed P. over to the vet. She resided @ vet ofc. for 6 mos., as vet hoped to be able to find her a suitable home. Months later after working very hard & diligently w/ Paisley, many of these issues have greatly improved &/or resolved. She will require a Very patient adopter; calm household---no young children, consistent routine, & lots of love. She CANNOT be crated, as this does stress her & she develops serious GI sxs. Her thyroid med. (taken twice daily) is very inexpensive. MUST have a grain-free food, as allergic to grains, & itches. Has some sensitivity to grass in yard, particularly when dew on, as she itches then. Gets along w/ other dogs, but Must be w/ calm dogs, as due to her blindness, difficult for her to protect herself. 9/12 Update: Paisley cont's. to exhibit some anxiety, & has made great strides in housetraining----95% effectively trained. Anxiety & separation issues + sensitive stomach play into this. Diet must be monitored, as sudden chgs. do affect her. Fostered in eastern NC. NO long distance adoption.

Vetting Information
• Fecal Tested 2014-07-02
• Distemper Combo - NO Lepto 2014-08-08
• Rabies 2014-08-11
• Heartworm Tested 2014-12-19
• Ofc. Visit/exam 2016-02-04
Other Things To Know About This Dog
• At-home adopter needed
• Has separation anxiety
• Must be adopted within 125 miles of Greenville, NC area
• Must have fenced yard
• Needs dog buddy
• No small children
• Quiet home needed

Want to know more about Paisley? Email foster family at K9RNSusie@suddenlink.net